InTheBite alternative logo
Subscribe to InTheBite to get our latest issue - You don't want to miss it!
HomeCaptain of the Year Cup Overview

Captain of the Year Cup Overview

Standings   Sanctioned Tournaments   Rules

The Evolution of the Industry’s Top Professional Award

The InTheBite Captain of the Year Cup consists of five divisions—Florida, Gulf Coast, East Coast, Hawaii, and International. It is the world’s only quantifiable metric for comparing the tournament success of captains in the sportfishing industry. Winning an InTheBite Captain of the Year Award is a major achievement.

Scoring is administered through a series of 90-sanctioned tournaments that span the sportfishing world. The point system is simple. The Captain of the Year Cup gives 500 points for first place, 300 for second and 100 for third place in the release divisions of sanctioned tournaments. For tournaments that recognize largest fish, there is 500-points awarded for the winner. Captains that win series championships are awarded an additional 250-points. The race is an annual competition, running from January 1- December 31 each year.

The InTheBite Captain of the Year Cup began in 2003. From 2003 through 2013, the award recognized a single winner. In 2014 the event expanded into its current five divisions. In this manner, the award recognizes captains within the context of where they fish and in relation to captains fishing alongside them. Utilizing tournament success as the basis for recognition makes the InTheBite Captain of the Year Cup the world’s only objective, quantifiable way to recognize the achievements of sportfishing professionals.

Divisional Sponsors:

The Official Apparel Provider of the Captain of the Year Cup

Bronze Sponsors: